The EDCTP programme is governed by the General Assembly of the EDCTP Association, the legal structure for the implementation of the second EDCTP programme (2014-2024). The Board of the EDCTP Association is entrusted by the General Assembly with the management of the Association and the oversight of the Secretariat. The Scientific Advisory Committee is the principal advisory body to EDCTP. The programme is implemented by the Secretariat.

General Assembly of the EDCTP Association

Mandated representative entity



Burkina Faso








The Gambia

















United Kingdom



South Africa



European Commission - DG Research & Innovation

European Commission - DG DEVCO

WHO Regional Office for Africa

African Union Commission of Social Affairs

Board of the EDCTP Association

Dr Mark Palmer

Association Board Chairperson

Dr Eusébio Macete

Association Board Vice-Chair

Prof. Francine Ntoumi

Association Board member

Dr Detlef Böcking

Association Board member

The EDCTP Board is entrusted with the management of the Association, supervises the Secretariat on behalf of the General Assembly, and is responsible for ensuring that the Association’s resources are properly and efficiently managed.

EDCTP Association Board Members 2018

Prof. Yazdan Yazdanpanah

Association Board Vice-Chair

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is an advisory panel of independent scientific experts from Europe and Africa. Working with the Secretariat, the SAC develops the strategic framework for EDCTP and advises the General Assembly on technical and scientific matters relating to the EDCTP programme.

The SAC is not involved in the review of applications submitted to EDCTP calls for proposals.

SAC members in 2018

Prof. Catherine Hankins (Chair)
The Netherlands

Prof. Eleni Aklillu (Vice-Chair)

Dr Maryline Bonnet

Prof. Christian Burri

Prof. John Gyapong (Vice-Chair)

Prof. Stefan Kaufmann

Dr Maria Fraga Oliveira Martins

Prof. Clara Menéndez Santos (Vice-Chair)

Prof. Martin Meremikwu

Prof. Keymanthri Moodley
South Africa

Dr Juliet Nabyonga-Orem

Dr Jutta Reinhard-Rupp

Prof. Philippe Sansonetti

Prof. Peter G Smith
United Kingdom

Prof. Marleen Temmerman

Prof. Halidou Tinto
Burkina Faso

Prof. Sir Alimuddin Zumla
United Kingdom

External observers to the SAC

Dr Line Matthiessen
European Commission, DG Research & Innovation

Dr Gianpietro van de Goor
European Commission, DG Research & Innovation

Dr Vasee Moorthy
World Health Organisation, Geneva

Dr Martin O.C. Ota
World Health Organisation African Region, Brazzaville

EDCTP Secretariat

Dr Michael Makanga

Executive Director

Dr Leonardo Simão

High Representative Africa

Prof. Marcel Tanner

High Representative Europe

Abdoulie Barry

Director of Finance & Administration

Dr Ole F. Olesen

Director of International Cooperation (Europe)

Prof. Moses Bockarie

Director of International Cooperation (Africa) & Head of Africa Office

Dr Pauline Beattie

Operations Manager

Dr Gabrielle Breugelmans

North-North Networking Manager

(left in 2018)

Dr Anne-Laure Knellwolf

Programme Portfolio Manager

(left in 2018)

Dr Thomas Nyirenda

South-South Networking and Capacity Development Manager

Dr Montserrat Blázquez Domingo

Senior Project Officer

Chris Bruinings

Finance Officer

Andreia Coelho

Administrative Support Officer

Nora Bünemann

Administrative Support Officer

(as of November 2018)

Mary Jane Coloma-Egelink

Grants Finance Officer

Lucien de Corte

Information Technology 
(IT) Officer

Christopher Dixon

Finance Officer

Nuraan Fakier

Project Officer

Neodia Flores-Mensing

Grants Finance Officer

Jean Marie Vianney Habarugira

Project Officer

Dr Michelle Helinski

Project Officer

Dr Hannah Hoffenkamp

Executive Governance Officer

(as of November 2018)

Suzanne Hoogervorst

Travel & Events Officer

Dominika Jajkowicz

Monitoring & Evaluation Officer

Dr Louwrens Kiestra

Legal Officer

Gert Onne van de Klashorst

Communications Officer

Neli Krautsova

Grants Financial Assistant

(left in 2018)

Mariska Louw

Senior Administrative Officer

Shingai Machingaidze

Project Officer

Dr Magda Moutaftsi

Strategic Partnerships Officer

(left in 2018)

Michelle Nderu

Project Officer

Lara Pandya

Strategic Partnerships Officer

Daniela Pereira

Communications Officer

Dr Monique Rijks-Surette

Senior Project Officer

(left in 2018)

Dr Johanna Roth

Project Officer

(as of March 2018)

Sayma Siddiqui

Grants Finance Officer

Dr Michelle Singh

Project Officer

Jennifer Stamatelos

Administrative Officer

Ana Lúcia Weinberg

Strategic Partnerships Officer

Dr Daniel Weibel

Project Officer

About us

The European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) is a public–public partnership between 14 European and 16 African countries, supported by the European Union. EDCTP’s vision is to reduce the individual, social and economic burden of poverty-related infectious diseases by affecting sub-Saharan Africa. EDCTP’s mission is to accelerate the development of new or improved medicinal products for the identification, treatment and prevention of infectious diseases, including emerging and re-emerging diseases, through pre- and postregistration clinical studies, with emphasis on phase II and III clinical trials. Our approach integrates conduct of research with development of African clinical research capacity and networking. The second EDCTP programme is implemented by the EDCTP Association supported under Horizon 2020, the European Union’s Framework Programme for Research and Innovation.

Contact us

For more information, please contact us or leave a message using this form.
Please enter your name
Please enter a correct e-mail address
Please enter a comment
Thank you! Your message has been sent.
Something went wrong while submitting the form. Try again.

Share this publication

Forward this page by e-mail or share it directly on social media.


Enter a search term to search the EDCTP publications.
Minimal length to search is 3 characters

This publication uses cookies

We use functional and analytical cookies to improve our website. In addition, third parties place tracking cookies to display personalised advertisements on social media. By clicking accept you consent to the placement of these cookies.